top of page

Happy Days in the Land Down Under III

It takes me so long to upload the next part of the series when I only stayed there for almost two weeks since I didn't want to have a really long post, but February and March flew by and I didn't feel like pressuring myself to finish these posts when I get enough stress from work. But since I haven't been as preoccupied as I was last month, this weekend I decided to post this. This is long overdue anyway.

I didn’t take much pictures on the first and second of November since we went to my niece’s resting place on November 1 then went to Ikea after. While on November 2, we spent the day resting up and cooking dinner at home before my cousin and his fiance arrived.

November 3 came and we didn't have a full itinerary. We just planned to get brunch at Mason Mills which was an hour's drive away from Armadale. It was a garden/restaurant/events place. The place was beautiful, different kinds of flowers were around and the layout pretty much looked like something that you've only read about, though my cousin who had allergic rhinitis, cursed around while we were there cause it was spring and pollen was pretty much everywhere. Thank goodness I only had dust allergies.

After having lunch we went to the mall to buy some of the things we need for the wedding, last minute. I wasn't really able to pack enough or had enough space to bring decent heels with me. So I ended up buying a pair of heels,sandals and accessories to dress up my outfit a bit.

We dropped off my aunt and Ate at home, and I requested for a trip to the city to see the sunset. Instead of taking me to the city which was an hour away, my Kuya brought me to the beach he and his then fiance had their first date since it was a 15 minute drive from his brother's house.

We arrived at Coogee beach with 30 minutes til sunset. While many were already leaving the beach, some were just arriving to head to the jetty to go fishing. I was told that during the right season people also go crabbing.

He wanted to reminisce their first date just in time for the wedding the next day. The sunset was beautiful, the beach felt calm even though the waves were getting pretty strong and there are more people coming around to fish by the minute. It felt nice to just wait for the sunset and hang around the jetty.

It got pretty cold that night, though, the coldest night during our stay. As the sun began to disappear we headed to the car and for someone who likes the cold so much better, I had to ask my Kuya to turn the heater on as soon as we got in. Wouldn't be good for either of us to get sick, what with his wedding a few hours away.

November 4, It's a Wonderful Day for a Wedding (Marco and Rachel)

I was in awe. I've never been to a "simple" wedding. Simple in a sense that it was beautifully uncomplicated. Having gotten used to different "extravagant" Filipino weddings, I very much appreciated how organized and well arranged my cousin's wedding was. No fuss. Not much intricacies. Just the ceremony and an intimate reception for the newly wed and the people closest to them.

bottom of page