top of page

Let's Talk Gear

Yes, I know I haven't posted for quite some time. But I'm here, aren't I?

I've just been busy with work, some writing(songs), my Australian visa application requirements, and a lot of other personal stuff on the side.

Anyway, The reason I'm posting this is because I want to talk gear. And I feel like we've been a fan of this underrated brand, probably just in the Philippines, but most people here overlook this brand since most of the people I follow are either Fuji or Sony users/ambassadors. But I'm here to talk about Panasonic.

I've long been a fan of Lumix by Panasonic. Well, not that long... But it feels that way.

In 2014, though it felt longer, I bought my first Lumix camera. Which was an LX7.I started finding it hard to lug around our old Canon EOS 400D and so I bought a point and shoot camera to bring to my summer trips.The Lumix LX7 packs a big punch for its size.

It's pocketable, and boasts an aperture of 1.4 and a very wide range of ISO, from 50 to 1600.

Sadly, it got stolen last year. And for almost 6 months, I was without a digital camera, well something that small at least but not a phone.

In December we got a Lumix LX100 and my dad had some projects that needed it's high quality video capabilities. It's a really good camera, I think at this point the only limitation to it is that it's a mirrorless camera that does not have an interchangeable lens. It's not much of a compromise given the quality but now, but it's gotten to the point that my dad would need another camera for some of his shoots. And I for one long to have a camera with a changeable lens to be more flexible. Though, I don't have much use for one since my purpose is mostly personal. My dad as a professional needed another camera.

He recently got a Lumix GX85. It's as heavy as the LX100, depending on the lens, but there are so many advantages to it compared to the LX100 or other cameras out there.

First is it's still got a Leica lens, like most Lumix cameras. But the GX85 does not require you to remove the batteries to charge it.It's usb cable compatible and it's just so convenient that it's still very useful after draining the battery. You can easily plug it in or use a powerbank to just keep on doing what you have to.It comes with a 12-32mm lens with the largest aperture at 2.8.

It's still really clean and sharp but imagine loading that baby up with something lower than 1.8 or a Russian/glass lens. You'll get the cleanest and crispest result from a camera that you won't need to shell out much on in the first place. I haven't had the chance or the budget yet to try and get an old Russian lens and adapter for it, but I'm bound to get one soon.

Start writing your post here. You can insert images and videos by clicking on the icons above.

bottom of page