top of page

Up in the Mountains

I have never gone mountain climbing, and a part of me excitedly accepted my cousin's invite to go on my first climb 3 weeks ago at Mt. Daraitan in Tanay, Rizal. If I was being honest, the excitement mostly just stemmed from wanting to go to the nearby river after the hike, and it was part of the tour package we got from Nakasone.

I didn't know what else to pack other than water and extra clothes. I ended up packing the essentials and a little bit more than I should have. I realized when we started our hike that I've overpacked. I had food for our lot and 2 bottles of 2L of water in my bag. Our kind tour guide helped me carry my bag halfway up the mountain.

I was already short of breath and panting before we even reached the first resting station. I felt jittery from the darkness and the fog with light drizzle on our way. It was disorienting having only our headlamps as a light source. Everytime I'd look around, I worried that I'd fall or slip. We started our hike at 4 A.M., and it took me about an hour and a half before I arrived at the first station. The guide fell back with me while the rest of the group went ahead. The sun was just about to rise when we found ourselves at the first station.

I was ready to give up and asked if the way we took going up was the only way to go back down, sadly, it was. And that basically motivated me to make it to the second station where I can opt to take that path going straight to the river rather than making it to the summit. I was encouraged by our fellow hikers and my cousins to finish the climb with them. I soldiered on and half cursed them on our way to the last station which was a difficult feat since the climb was getting higher and the trail was getting more complicated.

Our guide persuaded me to make it to the summit rather than give up halfway. We made it after about 4 hours of hiking.

The way down was no easier task. Half the time, most of us were trying to avoid tumbling or slipping down the sharp rocks. We'd mostly sit and slide when the gap between rocks got too high or too far away. It was better to tread slowly rather than slip to death from 2,000 ft., I kid. Well, better be careful since it's not an easy traverse going to the beautiful Tinipak river.

We reached the stopover near Tinipak river just after lunch. We slept for an hour or so, seated and heads rested on the carinderia tables.

I didn't go to the cave anymore, as it was an hour walk from the carinderia. I ended up resting by the river bank, relieving my body of the stress and exhaustion from climbing and traversing my first mountain. I had my camera in a ziplock and I'd only take it out when I found a rock stable enough to lean on.

We had to walk to the tricycle station by the end of the river to take a ride going back to the van. The untouched parts of the river are even more beautiful.

If you're taking notes and want to try mountain climbing/hiking for the first time, I'd suggest that you don't take on Daraitan as your first monster. Not only was it "buwis buhay" but you'll have to really condition yourself for it. Build up your consciousness. Since, if you feel like you won't be able to finish it or feel paranoid or worried that you won't make it, the stress will consume you. Backing out is hardly an option when you've reached the first station. It's more difficult to go back from the path you went up to. Also, don't overpack.

Nakasone was decent enough, though the ride going to and from Tanay worried me. The van felt like it was speeding down the road to death. Half the time, on our way back to Cubao, our asses wouldn't even touch the seats from bouncing around too much. The drivers need to be more careful, especially since there have been accidents in the past going to Tanay. The roads aren't too easy to get on with. They had good tour guides, though. It's the only redeeming quality they had.

All in all, I think I spent about 1,200 php (approx. $25) for my first climb. The tour(including transportation to and from Cubao) cost about 800 php, while the use of the shower is 20 php, headlamp rental at 60 php, 20 php tricycle ride, and the rest of the expenses went to food and water.

bottom of page