top of page

Hong Kong x DDG

I was on a 3 month back log for this post. I haven't been quite able to find the time to make it, or when I do, I couldn't access my laptop to do most of my editing. I'm on my desktop this time around so the posts will come more often... I hope. :)

This is my first trip out of the country without my parents. Though, I've never been much of a stranger to Hong Kong.

It didn't feel like weird at all to be walking those streets again with different people.

I went on a trip to Hong Kong with my office mates for a well deserved and well needed vacation.

Of course, having had to book our accommodation a bit close to the trip did make me a bit antsy and hesitant to shell out more than I should have or would have for a decent hotel which could have been better had we booked it earlier.

Our trip landed on a holiday, Chinese New Year, nonetheless. We never bothered to check the calendars to clear the date 6 months before. Imagine our surprise when we could barely book a hotel at the start of January. We got a not-so-cheap deal. And though, in a not so ideal area of Hong Kong(where there no near MTR stations and being 20 mins away from main streets and hotspots) it was still pretty decent. At least we didn't end up somewhere like Chungking Mansion. Although, I had told myself that I'd rather borrow my godmother's flat and go on my own had plans gone differently.

Our flight got delayed, which should have left January 28(AM). We ended up leaving at 5 pm, instead.

When arrived at the Hong Kong Airport we immediately looked for the bus that would take us to Regal Oriental Hotel. The trip took about an hour and 15 mins. We arrived at the hotel at about 8.30 pm and checked in to drop our bags and immediately looked for a restaurant to have dinner at. We ended up at a congee/dimsum place across the street and ordered a tad too much for our lot.

January 29, a Sunday, we went to the ferry terminal to get tickets for a trip to Macau. The lines were too long and we won't be able to make it if we all lined up and there's a limit for those who can book tickets online. Sadly, only half of us got the earlier trip and the rest had to take a trip 2 hours later. We wasted nearly half a day at the ferry terminal, and when the first batch got to Macau it was raining. We were stuck at Wynn hotel. I was supposed to tour them around some of my favorite places like the Penha church, Coloane and the Nam Van Nautical center.

The weather did not permit us to leave for about an hour. So, we only ended up going to the New Yaohan Mall, Senado Square and the Ruins while waiting for the rest of the group. I had planned on taking them to Ali Curry house, about 2 bus stops away from the Macau tower, but the road was closed. We went to the Macau tower instead to have an unsatisfying and overpriced dinner. I was really bummed by the way the day had turned out and they didn't want to risk the time going to the port so we didn't go up the Macau tower, anymore.

On our third day, I think all of us had given up on the idea of seeing our plans through...

We were already on our way to Tung Chung(City Gate) when we discovered that the Ngong Ping 360 was closed. We ended up having lunch at an Italian restaurant at the Citygate Outlets and went around to go shopping, we lucked out on a few stores that were giving additional discounts since they were still celebrating the Chinese New Year Holidays. We went back to the hotel to drop off our haul and set off to Mongkok to wander around before going to Victoria's peak.

Our plans for the night was foiled by the cold, fog and occasional drizzle. We didn't push through with the Victoria Peak trip. So, imagine my disappointment....

We ended up at the harbor and found our temporary escape from the rain at the Avenue of the Stars. The light show was about to start when we arrived. There was not much going for it since there were buildings that weren't well lit due to the holidays and the fact that the fog pretty much blurred everything up.

Tuesday, 8 AM with the temperature lingering from 15 to 16 C, we braved the cold and commuted to Disneyland. We got there in time for the opening and was thankful enough that we got to ride all the "Adult" rides in the morning or before most of the people arrived. It was my first time there and I pretty much underestimated the place, thinking it wouldn't be that long and tiring of a day. I was proven wrong by the glowing notification on my Fitbit that I just reached 29,000 steps.

It felt like half of Hong Kong was there. The long queues were getting really old and I found those more exhausting than the rides themselves. Especially the ones for the shows. I enjoyed myself for most part. Thank goodness for the cold, or else I would have been cranky and drenched in sweat.

One thing I don't get is how amusement park food can cost you up to $100HK for a meal that tasted quite bland. I mean, it's insane! Especially coming from the previous days' food budget outside where our meals average to about $30HKD per person.

All in all, the Disneyland trip was the best day, since most of our plans went accordingly, or better yet, we weren't disappointed.

I realized after this whole Hong Kong trip that I liked traveling alone, or with less people. It's not that I have any aversions to having company or going on group trips, but I do like to wander on my own without having to worry about the time I take or having to stop now and then to try food or take pictures on my own. I would suggest to those who are like me, that if you're going to travel somewhere for the first time or just prefer exploring the city, better go there on your own first or with only 2 people(max). You'll be able to discover and appreciate things better.

This group outing was one for the books since it was first of many, it may have had it's compromises and disappointments but what matters is the memories you make together.

bottom of page