top of page

Sing Street


I've always loved watching films. I'm no expert or movie buff.

But I think I could tell and appreciate when a movie is really good and worth watching.

I tend to rave about movies I really enjoy.

(Image from: The Film Experience)

Sing Street, released in early 2016, is a movie set during the 80's in Dublin, and follows the story of Connor, played by Ferdia Walsh-Peelo (a rather young and talented Irish rising star),a teenage boy who formed a rock n' roll band amidst all his struggles. From being a private school boy who's lived in the better part of town his whole life, he's transferred to an all boys Catholic school he doesn't fit in to, cause of their dwindling financial status. He finds himself falling for Raphina, played by Lucy Boynton, an aspiring model who always hangs out from across the street, waiting for her boyfriend. After school, Connor plucked up the courage to ask Raphina to be in his band's music video, which, at that point, did not exist yet.

So he and his new found friends formed a band and wrote songs that impressed most of the people they know.

(Image from Zeke Film) Connor (Ferdia Walsh- Peelo) and Eamon (Mark McKenna)

This happy sad movie is tracked with great 80s music and the original songs from it are well written and paced just right to still be attractive enough for people who find it hard to appreciate the sort of new wave, rock n'roll music from the era setting.

(Image from New York Times) Connor (Ferdia Walsh- Peelo) and Raphina (Lucy Boynton)

Something inside me has awoken and has been lit by this movie. I've been inspired to write music again despite my current writer's block.

(Image from Consequenceofsound.net) Brendan(Jack Reynor) and Connor (Ferdia Walsh- Peelo)

It reminded me how a lot of songs began with such basic chords and music that if you don't think about the technical aspect of things enough, you can end up with a genuine sound coming from the heart.

bottom of page